Coming Home to Your "Self"

There are five main causes of suffering: 1. Not knowing who we are 2. Attachment: Clinging to things that are impermanent and having expectations 3. Aversion: Trying to avoid things that are not real 4. Identifying with the ego and creating separate realities 5. Fear of death By correcting the first cause and remembering who we really are, all other causes of suffering will cease to concern us. One way to come home to ourselves is through the practice of yoga. When we follow the 8-limb practice of raja yoga, we practice coming home to ourselves every day. Through the yamas and niyamas, we practice compassion for ourselves and for others, and acceptance of the things we cannot change a

Changing Fear to Love

Fear has a purpose. It helps us to perceive when there is danger and kicks in our body's fight, flight or freeze response. We may make a decision to fight if we are prepared, or to flee from the perceived threat. This decision could save our lives. Our body reacts to fear with metabolic changes that enable us to be able to react quickly. Our heart rate speeds up, we breathe more rapidly and our mental focus sharpens, enabling our survival. However, fear can also be out of control, irrational and cause harm to ourselves and to others when we react inappropriately because of our fear. What if your fear starts to cause anxiety that prevents you from making decisions to improve your life? Perh

Ajna Chakra

Ajna chakra, or our “third eye,” is the lens through which we make sense of the world around us. We use our eyes to perceive the world around us, and our “third eye” interprets what we see. Imbalances at the level of the 6th chakra can manifest as vision problems, nightmares, headaches, or as disorders such as MS or Alzheimer's. Psychologically, when Ajna chakra is blocked, we may get stuck in our own belief systems, or believe that we are always right and change is not possible. There may be a sense that one is disconnected from others or self. However, when Ajna chakra is balanced we are able to see things clearly and experience Unity with our higher self. One way we can balance our 6th c

Summertime: The Season of Pitta

In Ayurveda, the "sister science" of yoga, we speak of 3 primary Doshas, or biological "humors" that, when imbued with "prana" or lifeforce, create life. They are Vata, Pitta and Kapha. According to David Frawley, "Our biological existence is a dance of the three doshas..." All of us contain the 3 Doshas within us, although one or two may be primary. You can determine your Ayurvedic constitution by taking any number of online tests, although the most effective way is to see a licensed practitioner of Ayurveda. The Doshas or "humors" also exist in the natural world. The energy of Pitta is dominant in the summertime. Vata dominates Fall and the beginning of Winter. As Winter turns to Spring,

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square